Advisory Council

What is the Advisory Council?

The Advisory Council is a vital component of any successful community education program. Council members come from all walks of life, bring a variety of skills and viewpoints, and represent the many different constituencies throughout the community. Members often have their fingers on the pulse of what is happening community-wide. As such, members are in a unique position to communicate needs to Community Education management and staff. Its principal responsibility is to link identified needs with identified community resources.

Who Can Become a Member:

  • Individual community residents
  • Business/professional people
  • Agency representatives
  • Civic leaders
  • Teachers
  • Clergy
  • Anyone interested in improving the quality of life in their community

What is the Commitment?

  • Attend Advisory Council meetings each year
  • Join at least one council task force
  • Contribute some of your time and talent to improving our communities

District 214 Community Education Advisory Council Members:

Karen Baker
Northwest Community Hospital
kbaker@nch.org
Nelia Bernabe
Community Education
nelia.bernabe@d214.org
Elisa M. Cisneros
OMNI Youth Services
ecisneros@omniyouth.org
Cathy Deane
Mt. Prospect Public Library
cdeane@mppl.org
Patrick Mogge
Community Education
patrick.mogge@d214.org
Julie Kane
Village of Mt. Prospect
jkane@mountprospect.org
Linda Kerr
Community Education
linda.kerr@d214.org
Teresa Palaggi
Community Education
teresa.palaggi@d214.org
Rhonda Serafin
Community Education
rhonda.serafin@d214.org
Carinna Tello
Community Education
carinna.tello@d214.org
Jordan Friedman
HandsOn Suburban Chicago
jordan@handsonsuburbanchicago.org
Todd Younger
Dist. 214 Board of Education
todd.younger@d214.org
Patrick Zielinski
Community Education
patrick.zielinski@d214.org